Birkbeck Creative Writing MA Alumni

Just so I have it all in the same place, I have compiled an incomplete list of former students on the Birkbeck Creative Writing MA (some taught by me, some not) and what they’ve gone on to write:

Annalie Grainger: author of Captive, Simon & Schuster, 2015, In Your Light, Simon & Schuster, 2018.

Abi Daré: author of The Girl with the Louding Voice, Sceptre, 2020, Winner of the Bath First Novel award 2018. Amazon’s ‘Best Book of 2020 So Far’.

Amer Anwar: author of Brothers in Blood, Dialogue, 2018 and Stone Cold Trouble, 2020. Winner of the Crime Writers’ Association Debut Dagger.

Anna Hope: author of Wake, Doubleday, 2014, The Ballroom, Black Swan, 2016, Expectation, Doubleday 2019. Co-founder of Letters to the Earth.

David Savill: author of They Are Trying to Break Your Heart, 2016, Bloomsbury.

E.C. Fremantle: author of Queen’s Gambit, Penguin, 2013, Sisters of Treason, Penguin, 2015, Watch the Lady, Penguin, 2016, The Girl in the Glass Tower, Michael Joseph, 2016, The Poison Bed, Michael Joseph, 2018.

Emily Critchley: author of Notes on my Family, Everything with words, 2017 and The Tiny Gestures of Small Flowers, Everything with words, 2020.

Emma Henderson: author of Grace Williams Says It Loud, Sceptre, 2011, The Valentine House, Sceptre, 2017; winner of the McKitterick Prize, 2011.

Karin Salvalaggio: author of Bone Dust White, Minotaur Books, 2014, Walleye Junction, Minotaur Books, 2016, Burnt River, Minotaur Books, 2016, Silent Rain, Minotaur Books, 2017.

Fiona Melrose: author of Midwinter, Corsair/Little Brown, 2016, Johannesburg, Corsair/Little Brown, 2017.

Golnoosh Nour: author of The Ministry of Guidance and other stories, Muswell Press, 2020.

Iphgenia Baal: author of The Hardy Tree: A Story about Gang Mentality, Trolley Books 2011, Gentle Art, Trolley Books, 2012, Mercedes Benz, Book Works, 2017, Death & Facebook, We Heard You Like Books, 2018.

JJ Bola: author of novel No Place to Call Home, poetry collection Refuge, and non-fiction book on masculinity, Mask Off: Masculinity Redefined, Pluto Press, 2019.

Jules Grant: author of We Go Around in the Night and are Consumed by Fire, Myriad, 2016. Shortlisted Polari First Book Prize 2017, shortlisted CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger.

Julia Grey: author of The Otherlife, Andersen Press, 2016, and Little Liar, Andersen Press, 2018.

Keith Jarrett: author of Selah, Burning Eye Books, 2017. Selected for the International Literary Showcase by Val McDermid as one of 10 most outstanding LGBT writers in the UK.

Len Lukowski: winner of the Wasafiri New Writing Prize 2018.

Louise Hare: author of This Lovely City (HQ), 2020. Shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish Prize.

Louise Lee: author of A Girl Called Love, 2015, Headline, In the Name of Love, 2017, Headline, A Whole Lotta Love, 2018, Headline.

Luke Tredget: author of Kismet, Faber & Faber, 2018.

Mary Lynn Bracht: author of White Chrysanthemum, Vintage, 2018; winner of the Writers Guild First Novel award 2018.

Martin Nathan: author of A Place of Safety, Salt, 2018.

Martin Wakefield: author of Zugunruhe, Hesterglock Press, 2019.

Nadim Safdar: author of Akram’s War, Atlantic Books, 2017.

Nicole Burstein: author of Othergirl, Andersen Press, 2015, Wonder Boy, Andersen Press, 2016.

Nii Ayikwei Parkes: author of Tail of the Blue Bird, Jonathan Cape, 2009; winner of Le Prix Baudelaire, 2014; shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, 2010.

Nik KorponStay God, Sweet Angel, Perfect Edge, 2014, The Rebellion’s Last Traitor, Angry Robot, 2017.

Niki Aguirre: 29 Ways to Drown, Flipped Eye, 2007, Terminal Romance, Flipped Eye, 2012.

Peter Coles: winner of a Spread The Word London Writers Award 2019

Saba Sams: author of soon tba. Represented by David Higham Associates.

Sarah Alexander: author of The Art of Not Breathing, Usborne, 2016.

Stefanie Seddon: winner of Commonwealth Prize and Bristol Short Story Award.

Suzanne O’Sullivan: author of It’s All In Your Head, Vintage, 2016, and Brainstorm, Chatto, 2018; Winner of the Wellcome Book Prize 2016.

Vanessa Onwuemezi: Winner of The White Review Short Story Prize 2019.